How I found passion in photography

I would say I was always very creative. It started when I was a kid. I was always drawing or painting something into my journal, pretending I am a famous singer or dancer. And you know when you’re little you want to be everything when you grow up. I wanted to be a vet. I loved animals and the thought that I’ll be working with them everyday was just like a dream to me. But then I grew up a bit and found out that I have a phobia of blood and needles. So becoming a vet was taboo.

When I had to to decide what field I want to focus on in my studies I’ve chosen a graphic design. I had no clue about that subject and I wasn’t quite sure what I want to study so I told myself that I will try it because I liked to draw so why not, right?

The first year was hard, but I got into it. I focused all my energy into it and worked hard on myself. I was quite good but I still felt like something was missing. I didn’t know how to express myself fully through this type of art. And then I discovered Alex Stoddard. I was amazed, speechless and excited when I first saw his work. I’ve never seen anything like that before and I loved it. I started to look for more photographers in this genre, so I discovered Brooke Shaden, Kyle Thompson, Rosie Hardy, David Talley, Rob Woodcox, Adam Bird and many others and I wanted to be like them. So I bought my first DSLR for my own money I had from birthdays and part time jobs and started to experimenting.

A couple months later I started my 365. I’ve seen a lot photographers doing it and I just loved the progress all of them have made through this project. I had no idea about conceptual photography, so I started to study a bit. I knew the basics of Photoshop since I was studying graphic design but the majority of tricks I can do in Photoshop today I’ve learned on YouTube. Everytime I didn’t know something I just typed out the question into google and I was fine.

You may now think that that’s the whole story but it isn’t at all. I did my first month in I believe and then quit because of school. I just couldn’t find the time to do it, because everytime I got home from school it was already dark outside and I had nowhere to go shooting. I wanted to but I needed to go outside. I had to be surrounded by nature, that’s the main key in my photos: NATURE. It inspires me so much and without it I just couldn’t think about an image I would like. So I quit. I quit and forget about this project.

It took me 6 months…6 FUCKING MONTHS until I decided that I want to got back into it. I had graduated from high school, I was doing absolutely nothing through my summer vacation (shame on me, lazy ass) and then I just remembered that I was doing this project. I wanted to get back into it so Idecided that I will complete this just to prove myself that I can do it. I had plenty of time because I haven’t apply for college and didn’t have a job so I gave it a try. I didn’t wanted to start from the first day again even though I did like 33 photos so far because I just wanted to finish what I’ve started. I think I broke the main rule in this but it is my project and I can do whatever I want with it, right? Okay, so I was determined that I’ll continue in this project and then my camera broke down. Like completely. I couldn’t turn it on, the battery was full, everything was fine, it just didn’t wanted to turn on. So I put it in for repair and waited.

And this was the moment I was waiting for my whole life. This moment has become the arrow of my future. I couldn’t take photos, couldn’t create videos (which I was doing for a while and I really enjoyed it and wanted to make a living by it) because I didn’t have my camera. And that was the moment when I realised I can’t live without taking pictures. I am always taking pictures, whether it’s on my phone, on my DSLR or my dad’s tiny ponit-and-shoot camera. I always find the time to snap a photo fo my dog, or my brother or something. That was the turning point in my life. I finally found out what I want to do with my life. I wanted to take pictures. In that moment I wasn’t quite sure if I want to shoot weddings, families, landscape, documentary,… photos but I knew that photography is the right medium for me.

The camera was in repair for another month, so 7 months later after quiting my 365 I got back up on my feet and stood proudly face to face to one of the biggest challenges in my life: Completing my 365 project.

set-me-free
Set Me Free
Leave a Reply

